Skip to main content

Eastern Progress Staff Members Capture KPA Awards

Eastern Progress Staff Members Capture KPA Awards

Staff members of The Eastern Progress, the student-produced weekly newspaper at Eastern Kentucky University, captured 10 awards in the University Division of the Kentucky Press Association 2012 Excellence in Kentucky Newspaper Awards contest.

The awards were presented Jan. 25 during KPA’s winter convention at the Brown Hotel in Louisville.

"I was really pleased to see our staff take home several KPA awards, including a few first-place awards,” said Reggie Beehner, faculty adviser for the Progress. “Obviously, students aren't thinking about winning awards as they're doing their jobs – they’re just trying to put out the best newspaper possible. But the accolades certainly are a nice validation of all the sacrifices the staff has made to dedicate themselves to the journalism craft."

The Progress won first-place awards for Best Headline, Adam Turner, Louisa, senior broadcasting and electronic media major; Best Lifestyle Page, Samantha Toy, recent journalism graduate, now business manager of the Progress, and Turner; and Best Editorial Page, Kyle Woosley, Mt. Sterling, senior journalism major.

Second-place awards were awarded for: Best Column, Carl Tretina, Glen Allen, Va., senior public relations major; and Best Front Page, Whitney Leggett, 2012 graduate, now news editor of the Citizen Voice & Times, Irvine, and Taylor Pettit, Landing, N.J., senior journalism major.

The Progress took third place in Best Feature Story for an entry by Turner.

Honorable mention went to: Best Feature Story, Ryan Alves, graduate now at Georgetown News-Graphic; Best Enterprise or Analytical Story, Woosley; Best Business/Agribusiness Story, Woosley; and Best Editorial Page, Seth Littrell, Independence, senior journalism major.

In addition, numerous recent EKU grads received awards for their work at Kentucky daily and weekly newspapers.

Contact Information

Reggie Beehner

Published on February 06, 2013

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/